Hoping to make your life's design a bit more dynamic!

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:48 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Lennus ii - a near perfect translation
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:19 pm 

Hi guys,

I have just completed Lennus ii and enjoyed it immensely. The quality of the translation is exceptional. I think the choice of vocabulary and sheer dedication to expressing complicated narratives is nothing short of amazing. I was so moved I had to come here and put a few words down to thank you all.

There must come a point when translating a game of this size and complexity where you feel like taking shortcuts. A few concatenated menu words here; an untranslated graphic there; etc.... but I felt from the minute I started playing this powerful game that your demand for perfection would never waver - and it did not. For that, above all else, I am truly grateful.

I play A LOT of SNES RPGs. I have in turn completed a huge number of them. It is not an exaggeration to state that the quality of translation here eclipses that of any officially localised SNES RPG I've played. I don't know how you guys motivate yourselves to work on these Goliath projects over many years, but I can tell you with some authority that the final outcome in this case is spectacular.

If anyone is reading this and wondering whether or not it's a game worth playing, I would strongly urge you to do so. It is fairly non-linear, has plenty of plot twists, modern graphics, and is not too hard. And this translation is almost certainly better than any official one we would have got back in the late nineties when it was released in Japan.

Again - to Bongo, WildBill, and Draken: I express my most humble thanks for this wonderful piece of work. You have outdone yourselves.

Post subject: Re: Lennus ii - a near perfect translation
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:18 pm 
Site Admin

midget35 wrote:
Hi guys,